Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal Collins Raye Felder William M. "Bill" Hixon Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

April 4, 2017

Ms. Catherine Heigel, Director Department of Health and Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201

RE: Legislative Oversight Study of the Department of Health and Environmental Control

Dear Director Heigel:

On behalf of the Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee, we thank you and your staff for sharing your time and knowledge with the Subcommittee during our March 23, 2017, meeting. We look forward to our next meeting on Thursday, April 20, 2017, to learn more about the agency's strategic plan, resources and governmental partners. Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina and for your continued cooperation with the legislative oversight process.

Sincerely,

Phyllis Henderson Subcommittee Chair

cc: The Honorable William K. Bowers
The Honorable Bill Taylor

The Honorable MaryGail Douglas